Tags

, , , , , , ,

white bread

I feel as though I need to make it up to myself for posting only once in the last week…so, here’s a recipe I dug up online on allrecipes.com a while back for Traditional White Bread. I’ve tried several different recipes for white bread, but this one has definitely been the most successful. I tried baking one in my grandmother’s old aluminum loaf pan and one in a glass loaf pan, just for kicks. Of course, the glass was better. I just had to see for myself…

Traditional White Bread
2 packages active dry yeast
3 T lard [I subbed butter, you can also sub with shortening]
3 T sugar
1 T salt
2 1/2 c warm water
6 1/2 c bread flour
olive oil

_In a large bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water. Stir in fat, salt and two cups of the bread flour. Stir in remaining flour, 1/2 c at a time, beating well after each addition. When the dough has pulled together, turn onto lightly floured surface and knead until smooth & elastic, about 8 minutes.
_Lightly oil a large bowl, place the dough in the bowl and turn to coat with olive oil. Cover with a damp cloth and let rise in warm place until doubled in size, about an hour.
_Deflate the dough and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface. Divide the dough into two equal pieces ad form into loaves. Place the loaves into lightly greased 9×5″ loaf pans. Cover the loaves with a damp cloth and let rise until doubled, about 40 minutes.
_Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
_Put loaves in oven, turn oven down to 375 degrees, bake 30 minutes or until top is golden brown and bottom of the loaf sounds hollow when tapped. An aluminum pan will take a few minutes longer to bake than a glass one. 🙂 Enjoy!